Welcome to the MacKillop College Blog

AJASSGeneral NewsOur Catholic IdentitySisters of Saint Joseph of Sacred HeartYear of Consecrated Life

Year of Consecrated Life

07 October 2015 by

Pope Francis announced that 2015 will be a year dedicated to the promotion of consecrated life, and is asking the church’s religious sisters, brothers and priests to “wake up the world” with their testimony of faith, holiness and hope.

MacKillop College would like to give thanks for the contributions of all the Sisters of St. Joseph that have served our community over many years. In particular we would acknowledge the foresight of our founding Principal Sr. Giovanni Farquer and all who followed in her wake, including St Geraldine Whelan, a current and much loved staff member. The joyful witness and service of many religious has formed our school to be what it is today. Their generous service and sacrifices enabled many people to hear the Gospel.

In this Year of Consecrated Life, we give thanks for the religious who have served here. We pray in thanks for them and those they have served.

The following is a list of all the Sister of St. Joseph who have selflessly served the MacKillop Community since the college was established in 1970.

As Principal of MacKillop:
1970-73 Sr. Giovanni Farquer
1974-79 Sr. Helen Reed
1980-81 Sr. Lynette Young
1982 Sr. Marie Hanger
1983-95 Sr. Giovanni Farquer

Sisters of Saint Joseph of Sacred Heart:
1970-71 Sr. Clare Schultz
1970-72 Sr. Diane Moore (Zita)
1971-72 Sr. Catherine Pierce
1972-74, 1983-90, 1997-02 Sr. Mary-Fran Coburn
1973 Sr. Petrus de Bont
1973-74 Sr. Therese Wolfe
1974-77, 1981-82 Sr. Patricia Robertson
1975-81 Sr. Joan Ryan
1975-77 Sr. Patricia Leahy
1978 Sr. Veronica Lonergan
1978-81 Sr. Martin Bolger
1978-80 Sr. Joyce Southern
1981-84, 1986-90 Sr. Philomena McGuigan
1983-93 Sr. Therese Quinn
1985-88 Sr. Annette Flockhardt
1986 Sr. Catherine Mead
1987 Sr. Annette Coulthardt
1988 Sr. Rita Malavisi
1988 Sr. Patricia Stone
1989-96, 1998-10 Sr. Carmel Crameri
1990-93 Sr. Lynette Young
1992-93 Sr. Cathy Dean
1995 Sr. Margaret Malady
1997 Sr. Teresa Shaw
1997- Sr. Geraldine Whelan
1999-01 Sr. Eileen Carr

Back to Blog Feed